Erase Cisco Router Configurations

Published on: Sun, 12 Jan 2014



Sometimes we need to reuse old Cisco routers at another location, or switch them between locations, but they are full of configuration and we need nothing of this configuration in the new setup.

So, what to do? How can we remove all Cisco router configurations?

We can't simply remove them command by command using the "no" command; as this will take very long time, and not practical.

All what we need is a simple command line to do this, but first we need to enter the configuration mode:

Router# erase startup-config

After that just reboot the router using below command to have a fresh start.

Router# reload

Don't ever use any other command like: Delete; to erase the configuration as this may break your router and make it unusable.

 
 

You are viewing the mobile version of the site, to view the full version please use bigger screen, or use the landscape mode in the mobile.